chevron_left Back to List
Golden Sands

Golden Sands

flare
pin_drop play.goldensandsmc.com

alt text
alt text

Infinity Evolved
PLAY.GOLDENSANDSMC.COM

FTB Beyond
BEYOND.GOLDENSANDSMC.COM

Skyfactory 3
SF3.GOLDENSANDSMC.COM

Direwolf20 1.12
DW20.GOLDENSANDSMC.COM
alt text

sentiment_dissatisfied
Decided to add a few edits and re-upload.
-
I'm honestly unsure of where to start with this review. I guess with a quick summary, the server itself is not that bad, it doesn't really lag and it's playable, but the rules, restrictions and staff & some of the community seem to just be bordering on pure garbage & plain bad.

I'll start with the rules, just with a quick glance, they don't seem that bad, however when you look a little closer you'll see how strict they are. In regards to the over-world, you're not allowed to climb up by stacking blocks in a 1x1, you aren't allowed to dig down if you don't cover up the hole, you aren't actually even allowed to dig a small area other than a few trees & ores unless it's specifically going to be used for your base. So, you'll have to go through the trouble of covering up, filling in and making sure not to break more than a few blocks unless you intend to make use of the space. I was unclear on some of these rules, particularly the one that said no mass mining, when I asked a staff member in-game to clarify, I learned that I made mistakes as I was mining for ores in the over-world, as going to a gather world every five seconds to go and get ores as opposed to digging underground is a complete hassle and waste of time. In regards to all these rules that are about digging\mining, I can't really put my finger on it. I've seen some staff talk about land and whatnot over the course of my playing, it honestly seems that the reason they basically don't allow anything in the over world is not because of something like not wanting it to get ruined so that players have a harder time in the future, but because they are in love with how the land looks. It's as if they care more about how it looks as opposed to convenience for players. I could understand not allowing huge giant quarry holes and surface holes, but when you have to nitpick 1x1 holes & the occasional 1x1 towers you seriously bring this into question. I understand that this part may seem a bit hostile or rude, but I with the way staff act I honestly feel that they aren't sincere enough on this server to do it for a positive reason.

I'm personally not a fan of things like free infinite fluids, so it was kind of an upset that those things exist on this server but I understand that things like pumping lava really can be taxing on the server, so there's really no fault in it.

Onto the staff and community then.
I'm a very straight forward and literal type of person, when I say something serious I usually default into grammar and proper spelling but otherwise I don't. I try to make things clear so that a misunderstanding doesn't happen when I ask questions, because some of the things I ask can come off as slightly hostile or stupid to some people & I don't wish to argue or fight with them over misunderstandings. Unfortunately, when I was asking a staff member about mass mining and other things, I used the phrase "strict rules" multiple times for clarity on why I was asking, as I didn't want the staff member to think that I was just trying to randomly ask & annoy him\her. Unfortunately, this lead to the staff member taking a rather rude tone, though it was partly due to their misunderstanding and my lack of clarity due to using the wrong words, I feel like it could have been handled better. I stated multiple times to that staff member I didn't want to argue or cause drama as well. It didn't really escalate beyond that person seeming very angry and defensive, but still, it rather hurt having someone take up an attitude of "I heard you already, you know what I said so shut up" just because of a misunderstanding. There was really no need for it to get that serious. While this staff member was AFK, I asked a question in the open chat and was immediately met with an answer by a person who seemed condescending and kind of self righteous. Unfortunately, I've come across a few people in the community who seemed like they thought they were better than everyone else or had a stick up there ass and only was able to find one person I actually liked that was willing to interact with me. It was rather funny in the case mentioned just before, because he was giving me bad information. I feel like he might have been upset over the previous conversation I had with the staff member as he seemed abrasive when answering me with incorrect information.

There are device limits and stuff (Emphasis on stuff, because it's not just the device limits involved.) mentioned in the rules as well, which is fine of course, but honestly with that and everything else it makes me think that the hardware for the server might be garbage. I personally don't know anything about hardware or software, so I can't say for sure, but when I take a look at all the limitations and restrictions in place, it feels like they are really stingy with what they allow and don't allow in terms of quantity.

As for the economy, it's basically broken. I could vote on a single day and be able to rocket my progress ahead just because of the player shops at the market. It's honestly just gross and not really worth talking about. That said, I don't know how to improve an economy on a server. The admin shop is kind of a let down too, they sell basically all end-game materials and AE 2 stuff, though the prices aren't that cheap compared to the player shops. It really takes away from the game when you can just be given a large amount of stuff for free or for a single day of voting. I was expecting for them to potentially sell things like ingots or saplings, not advanced or "end game"\"mid game" materials & machines.

Reading a few of the reviews from the past has given me some insight and it seems that these problems, at least the ones involving the overly strict rules and limitations & "arrogance" or condescending nature from the staff are a persisting issue. I've only really seen one of the owners once and he seemed like a nice guy\girl despite not directly speaking to him. I've can't speak about all staff members because I haven't met them, but considering others are finding issue with attitude it wouldn't be surprising if the majority of the upper staff and lower staff excluding the owners or managers are just as bad. It's unfortunate that the only positive review that was worth reading mostly sang praises and only touched on a few surface details without providing info. The best reviews I feel are the negative reviews, but hey, that's just me probably.



In short, the environment seems really poor if you aren't like minded. I've only been on for a few days so I haven't met a lot of people of course, but it's rather upsetting that just from the time I've played I can give it this bad of a rating. The staff seem unprofessional and "holier than thou" at times with a quick temper & defensive attitude & the economy is no good. The limits on mobs and machines are reasonable, however they are still 'strict', when a rule has to be something you're constantly looking out for so you don't break it on accident, it helps turn bad experiences into worse experiences.

Unless you're fine adhering to a strict set of rules, I suggest you play elsewhere.
Posted 15th May 2018
sentiment_very_dissatisfied
This Server is very Strikt if you do the a tiny Mistake you
get banned instantly , Mudge the Owner is quite nice
but the Admins and Like Church are arrogant and try to
mute you if you do mistakes. No limits if you want to
give your open opinion to others the Stuffs make you fade away like you never where on this Server !

Stay AWAY !
The server replied:
Dear player,

We apologize if you had a negative experience while playing on our FTB Infinity Evolved Server. We utilise clearly stated rules that allow our server to function in a climate that eliminates as much lag as possible while accommodating a substantial number of players. We respect all players and wish to create an environment where every player can feel comfortable and where everyone is free to enjoy the game in accordance with the rules that we have set. Our server is more of a community; a society where players live out an adventure of building, exploring, crafting and generally, just having a good time. Anything that infringes upon our community and upon the player-experience is not appreciated.

If your actions violated our rules that you were recommended to read, then there is nothing that can be done and it is recommended that you re-read our many policies located on our website to refresh your understanding. If you feel that you were mistreated by any member of staff you are free to join our discord at https://discord.gg/6YAe9p and present your evidence to any of the owners, mudge002 or HalfShotz, or you can do the same on our website www.goldensandsmc.com, though it is recommended that you should have done this a long time ago.

Again, we apologize for what may have happened and hope to hear from you soon. We always love to hear from our players and we hope to see you soon!

- The GoldenSands Team
Posted 22nd Mar 2018
sentiment_very_satisfied
I love playing on this server. Friendly people, lots of support from both staff and fellow players. Griefing (if any) gets dealt with by staff accurately and swift. Rules are extensive but clearly explained on the website.
Posted 22nd Mar 2018
sentiment_very_satisfied
I have been here forever. It is by far the best FTB server I have been on, and I've bounced around plenty to have a good idea of what servers should and shouldn't be like. Allow me to go through my favorite things about this server:
-Staff are highly competent and enjoy their jobs. The server owner is very humble and kind and interacts with players. Staff are also very active both in game and in Discord.
-OVER 25+ CUSTOM PLUGINS. All amazing additions. Kudos to the wonderful developer. Drastically improves the user experience!
-Economy is well maintained.
-You are able to purchase ranks with something other than money. By voting or welcoming players, you earn "Sand Dollars", which you can use to purchase in-game items and ranks!
-Numerous events and minigames held often. Staff hold minigames and events fairly often, providing players with fun activities!
-The server buildings look phenominal.
-The community is active and fun to be in. A very relaxed community, everyone is chill with one another and we all have fun together.

While the machine rules are a bummer for some, the benefit heavily outweighs the bad. The helpful and kind community did it for me. The custom crafting is also a huge plus, makes the game wayyyy much more fun. The custom plugins are awesome. Did I mention that Golden Sands also hosts other modpacks? You should definitely check it out. 10/10
The server replied:
Dear player,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoy playing on our server! As a team we do our best to make it as fun as we can for everyone, while making it fair at the same time with the best performance that we can achieve while accommodating a substantial number of players. Recently we hosted a mini-game building contest which was a very large success! Stay tuned to our discord https://discord.gg/6YAe9p to keep up to date for news and future contests! We appreciate the review as well and hope to see you in-game again soon!

- The GoldenSands Team
Posted 10th Feb 2018
sentiment_very_satisfied
Easily the best FTB Infinity server I've played on yet. Over the one month I've been playing, I've seen major changes for the better. The more I play, the better it gets. The community is close knit, and the staff is friendly while also making sure everything remains in order. I would recommend this server to anyone who wants to truly connect with the community.
The server replied:
Dear player,

We're happy to hear from you! At GoldenSands we strive to provide a comfortable environment where the best of the modded minecraft packs can be enjoyed to the fullest extent possible that a server environment would allow. We are also in the processing of developing our community aspects even further so we can all have even more fun together! Keep in touch via our website www.goldensandsmc.com for news!

- The GoldenSands Team
Posted 16th Dec 2017
sentiment_neutral
If theres one thing this server taught me is to always read the rules before joining.

No disrespect to the owner or mods, they are very friendly but the machine rules are very totalitarian. With a limit of only 16 machines per chunk and a rule that multiblock structures cannot overlap chunks, the possibilities are rather limited for a modpack which is heavily centered around the use of machinery.

I spent a whole day restructuring my apiaries to apply with the 16 machine limit rule only to be told by a mod that they're updating the maximum limit to 10, nowhere in the rule book did it tell me this.

Great staff and community however rather limiting rules.
The server replied:
Hey friend, mudge here. (server owner)

I am sorry that you dislike the server rules regarding machines, multiblocks and such and I will be the first to agree with you, I hate them. Mostly I hate that they are necessary. When the server first opened we tried to let people build whatever they wanted "within reason" and we eventually reached a point where the server's tps was never better than 15. Which is bad.

After installing rules asking players to limit the amount of machines they have per chunk our servers tps usually sits around 18.5 to 20, usually closer to 20.

I just want you to know that I too play this game and my entire base (which is pretty big actually) adheres to all the server rules and it doesn't impede my very large base at all.
Posted 13th Dec 2017
sentiment_very_dissatisfied
This server is trash, staff are ignorant, the owners minus Mudge are assclowns.

Just avoid this server in general.
The server replied:
Dear player,

We're sorry you had a negative experience with one of our owners. We apologize for this and would like some information on the incident in question so that we can prevent it from happening again in the future.

If there's an issue with a staff member, please bring it to Mudge's attention in-game, on Discord on through the Enjin PM system.

Again, we apologize for what may have happened and hope to hear from you soon.

- GoldenSands Team
Posted 4th Nov 2017
sentiment_very_satisfied
The owners really seem to care about this server, they respect their players and the server rules aw well . The staff is courteous and the server has these games they run to help keep players busy, lots of fun! Come join us today!
The server replied:
Dear player,

We're glad you enjoy playing on our server! We try to make it as fun as we can for everyone, while making it fair at the same time. We appreciate the review as well and hope to see you in-game again soon!

- GoldenSands Team
Posted 3rd Sep 2017
sentiment_satisfied
Nice server with great modpack, with their recipes, great community, but expensive chunk loaders and fonts for nickname. 8/10
The server replied:
Dear player,

We're glad you enjoy our server! The normal chunkloaders are the same as every other server material wise, it's only the restricted ones that have a higher cost to them from our Donation Shop/Crafting Menu due to their ability to cause lag if the player isn't online. It's our way of not outright banning them, just making them more difficult/costly to acquire.

Fonts for nicknames however, we'll definitely look into and see if a price adjustment should be made. We appreciate your feedback and hope you join us again soon!

- GoldenSands Team
Posted 1st Aug 2017
sentiment_very_dissatisfied
They are to concerned with their Economy, Its a Game, its not like your making real money off of players buying items in said game, The Mods are to quick to judge others, and will dog a player if they don't like them till the player makes a minor infraction and then ban them. the only good person on the server may be the Owner Mudge, But he trusts the crappy Mods he has so it really puts a downer on play on this server 1/5.
The server replied:
Dear player,

I'll go over each point you made, just to clear a few things up.

- Economy
While it is just a game, we wanted to try and create a balanced playing field for all our players as much as possible. We wanted to try and prevent those trying to take advantage of the system and abusing it. This lead to some rules/changes that weren't something we had planned, but were necessary so that everyone could enjoy the economy and the marketplace.

- Mods
We apologize if you had a negative experience with one of our mods. If you could provide us with more information regarding the incident in question, we'd happily review it and determine if the proper protocols and rules were followed that we have set for our staff.

- Mudge/Mods
You have to keep in mind that all staff are volunteers. Nobody is perfect and we entrust our mods with some power, but ultimately they can be overruled if they were deemed in the wrong.

We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve, thank you!

- GoldenSands Team
Posted 21st Jul 2017
sentiment_very_satisfied
Phenomenally run server, great players, great modpack, great staff.

This is a server that absolutely lives up to their promise to provide a fun, friendly place to play.
The server replied:
Dear player,

We're glad to hear you enjoy our server! We do our best to try and provide a fun, friendly and fair place for all our players.

We hope to see you in-game again soon!

- GoldenSands Team
Posted 3rd Apr 2017
sentiment_very_satisfied
Good stable server with a great group of everyday players. Everyone is friendly, and all first joiners are welcomed by the entire server.

Few items banned (the ones that are, are mostly for stability)
Mods/Admin are prompt with fixing any issues.

Overall, a good choice!
The server replied:
Dear player,

We're glad to hear you enjoy our server! We do our best to try and provide a fun, friendly and fair place for all our players. Banned items are something we hate having to do, and try to limit them to as few as possible, or making their recipes harder to make and restrict them to higher ranked players.

We hope to see you in-game again soon!

- GoldenSands Team
Posted 29th Mar 2017